So. My Dad went Paleo.

As a thank you to my dad for coming up and helping with the basement bathroom, we invited mom and dad up for a nice home cooked dinner. Ok, so I had an ulterior motive, and wanted him to take a peek at the main floor powder room plumbing. I have a vanity and wallpaper ready to go in there as well. It will be SO fun. FLAMINGOS!! WHAAAAT?!?! Anyway,  I had all kinds of delicious menu ideas… And then he reminded me. He was still Paleo. Or, as my sister says “Yea, dad is still eating like a caveman.”

So, I did what any other good daughter would do. I researched the Paleo diet.  And went to work. Dinner started to grow bigger and bigger… I invited my sister to come along as well, my husband invited his sister and a friend. So … that was hubby, daughter, me… mom & dad… 2 sisters and a friend… I just wanted to make sure we had enough food!

I ended up making a super delicious cauliflower rice, chicken, and broccoli casserole. Amazingly mouth wateringly  (is that a word? My spell check says it isn’t) delicious. But, I suppose I am biased, since I could be considered a broccoli connoisseur. I LOVE my green veggies. Then I decided I also needed a spaghetti squash vegetable chow mein, and I got to use my spiralizer to make olive oil & garlic zucchini noodles! Hubby cooked up a big fat turkey, bbq’d up some bacon wrapped scallops, and there was wine. Lots of wine.

I will share the recipe for the Broccoli & Cauliflower Rice bake with you. It was the star of the show!

IMG_1820

Cauliflower Rice & Broccoli Cheese Chicken Bake

Ingredients:

3 large boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 tbsp olive oil

1 head of cauliflower

1 head of broccoli

2 tsp sea salt

1.5 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp Italian seasoning

1 tsp vegetable seasoning

1 tbsp butter, melted

1 1/2 cup mozzarella, shredded

1  cup marble cheese, shredded

(Or whichever cheese is your fav! And I’m not gonna lie… I probably used way more cheese than that. Melted gooey goodness, mmmm)

Got to use my brand new food processor for this meal! Was ridiculously excited.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Flatten (pound) and season the chicken breasts with seasoned salt and chicken seasoning. We BBQ’d the chicken breasts, but you could bake them in the oven as well until cooked through.

While you have the chicken on the grill, use your food processor to pulse the cauliflower into little itty bitty pieces. So it looks like rice! Maybe I was a little out of control with my first use and it resembled couscous more than rice, lol.

I roughly chopped up my broccoli and added that to the cauliflower.

When chicken is done, remove from grill and let it cool a bit while you keep working.

While the chicken is chilling out, I stirred the melted butter and all the dry seasoning together in a small bowl. I then added it to the cauliflower mix.

Add the mozzarella and about half of the marble cheese.

Mix it all up, yum yum.

When the chicken wasn’t so hot it was burning my fingerprints off, I cubed it up and tossed it in the bowl, then moved the entire mixture into a greased dutch oven. You could use a casserole dish if you don’t have one.

IMG_1817

I covered the mix with the rest of the cheese, and its a real possibility that I shredded more and added it, because why not?! I baked it in the oven for about an hour, making sure that the top cheese was nice and melted, and browed up a little bit.

Let it cool a few minutes before serving.

This received rave reviews from the cavemen and everyone else. Would make this again for SURE!

I totally slacked on taking any pics of the finished product – but when I make it again, I will add some pics!

Leave a Reply

